KLEE / ENSOR

At first glance, there appear to be tremendous differences between Paul Klee (1879-1940) and James Ensor (1860-1949), both as artists and in their work. Not only do they belong to different generations; their origins and nationalities also set them apart. However, if you take a closer look, you will discover some common characteristics. 

 

Page-1
shape-hero--purple

What typifies them both is a penchant for satire and the grotesque. Klee studied the graphic works of James Ensor – in addition to the graphic works of Beardsley, Blake and Goya – at Munich’s Kupferstichkabinett as early as in 1904. It is thanks to their mutual friend, the Swiss artist Jacques-Ernst Sonderegger (1882-1956), that Paul Klee became even better acquainted with the work of James Ensor.

In some of their engravings, both Ensor and Klee employ a similarly whimsical visual language that is distinguished by an apparent yet deceptive naivety. Several prints by both Ensor and Klee refer to the graffiti we see on the streets, to children’s drawings or to drawings by people designated as ‘mentally ill’. The German psychiatrist and art historian Hans Prinzhorn (1886-1933) also referred to Ensor in his publication Bildnerei der Geisteskranken (1922), which would leave a lasting impression on Paul Klee. 

Both Klee and Ensor held a fascination for the world of the theatre and the puppet. In numerous prints, drawings and paintings, Ensor and Klee, each in their own idiosyncratic way, depicted the grotesque world of disguise and ‘transfiguration’.

They also mocked their contemporaries and denounced political and other transgressions in countless caricatures.

The exhibition in the Ensor House in Ostend, in which a selection of works will be shown, aims to shine a spotlight on the parallels between the two artists. This will be the first time in Belgium that the works of these two artists will be brought together in such an intimate confrontation and dialogue.  The exhibition was made possible thanks to the generous loans from Paul Klee Centre in Bern, Mu.ZEE and Ensorstichting in Ostend. 

Visit this exhibition between December 16, 2021 and April 3, 2022.

KLEE / ENSOR

De prime abord, tout semble opposer Paul Klee (1879-1940) et James Ensor (1860-1949), y compris leur œuvre. En plus d’appartenir à une génération différente, ces deux artistes se distinguent par leur origine et leur nationalité. Toutefois, à en regarder de plus près, l'on peut déceler quelques points communs. 

 

Page-1
shape-hero--purple

L’un d’entre eux est leur sens du grotesque et de l’absurde, qui les caractérise tous deux. En 1904 déjà, Klee se penchait sur l'œuvre graphique de James Ensor aux côtés de celles de Beardsley, Blake et Goya dans le Kupferstichkabinett à Munich. C’est grâce à leur ami commun, l’artiste suisse Jacques-Ernst Sonderegger (1882-1956) que Paul Klee a pu apprendre à mieux connaître l'œuvre de James Ensor.

Dans plusieurs de leurs gravures, Ensor et Klee ont recours à un langage imagé fantaisiste qui se caractérise par une naïveté apparente, mais trompeuse. Diverses gravures, d’Ensor comme de Klee, font référence à des graffitis urbains, à des dessins d’enfants voire à des dessins de prétendus malades mentaux. Le psychiatre et historien de l’art allemand Hans Prinzhorn (1886-1933) fait également référence à Ensor dans sa publication Expressions de la folie (1922) qui laissera une impression durable sur Paul Klee. 

Ce qui fascine Klee et Ensor l’un comme l’autre, c’est le monde du théâtre et des marionnettes. Ensor et Klee se plaisent à représenter le monde grotesque du déguisement et de la « transfiguration » dans de multiples gravures, chacun de leur manière idiosyncrasique.

En outre, tous deux se sont moqués de leurs contemporains et ont dénoncé des abus par l’intermédiaire de nombreuses caricatures.

L’exposition présentée à la Maison Ensor à Ostende, au cours de laquelle les visiteurs pourront découvrir une sélection d'œuvres, tend à révéler les points communs entre ces deux artistes. Il s’agira d'une première en Belgique, jamais une exposition n’a-t-elle confronté les œuvres des deux artistes de manière intime et ne les a fait entrer en dialogue.  Ce projet a pu voir le jour grâce aux généreux prêts du Centre Paul Klee, à Berne et Mu.ZEE et Ensorstichting à Ostende.

Visitez cette exposition entre le 16 décembre 2021 et 3 avril 2022 dans La Maison de James Ensor.